FAQ

The Lactips material is a “plastic-free plastic,” meaning that it has the same form as ordinary plastic (pellets), allowing it to be transformed throughout the entire plastics processing chain. At the same time, the material is composed 100% of natural ingredients without chemical treatment.

The Lactips material is 100% bio-based according to the ISO 16620-2:2014 standard.

Solubility refers to a material’s ability to dissolve in a solution.

Biodegradation is a more complex biological process that corresponds to a material’s ability to decompose and be digested by things like microorganisms and fungi, which use the material as a resource. The material then disappears as the decomposers use it as food.

A water-soluble material is not necessarily biodegradable. Indeed, just because a material disappears visually does not mean that it has biodegraded.

The time it takes for the film made of the Lactips material to dissolve depends on the thickness and grade used. Refer to our product data sheets for more information.

The film produced from the Lactips CareTips material is biodegradable according to the ISO 14851 (aerobic) and ISO 15985 (anaerobic) standards. The Lactips pellets are certified OK Biodegradable Water by TÜV Austria and ASTM D6691, which covers aerobic biodegradation of plastic materials in marine environments.

The Lactips CareTips pellets are compostable using home composting. The Lactips CareTips material is certified OK Home Compost by TÜV Austria.

Lactips

FAQ

Le matériau Lactips est un matériau "plastique sans plastique", c'est-à-dire qu'il se présente sous la même forme qu'un plastique conventionnel (granulé), lui permettant d’être transformable sur toute la chaîne de la plasturgie, tout en ayant une composition 100% issue d’ingrédients naturels et sans traitement chimique.

Le matériau Lactips est 100% bio-sourcé selon la norme ISO 16620-2:2014.

La solubilité correspond à la capacité d’un matériau à se dissoudre en solution.

La biodégradation est un processus biologique plus complexe qui correspond à la capacité du matériau à se décomposer et à être digéré sous l’action de micro-organisme, champignons… Dans ce processus, le matériau est utilisé comme ressource par les micro-organismes, champignons etc... Il disparait car il sert de nutriment aux différents micro-organismes.

Un matériau soluble n’est pas obligatoirement biodégradable. En effet, ce n’est pas parce que le matériau disparait visuellement qu’il est biodégradé.

Le temps de dissolution du film issu du matériau Lactips est fonction de l'épaisseur et du grade utilisé. Se référer à nos fiches produits.

Le film issu du matériau Lactips CareTips est biodégradable selon les normes ISO 14851 (aérobie) et ISO 15985 (anaérobie). Le granulé Lactips est certifié OK Biodegradable Water par TÜV Austria et ASTM D6691 qui détermine la biodégradation aérobie des matières plastiques en milieu marin.

Le granulé Lactips CareTips est compostable en compostage à domicile. Le matériau Lactips CareTips est certifié OK Compost Home par TÜV Austria.

Lactips